Kindness

IMG_5766

A few months ago while I was in college I befriended this super quirky kid in one of my classes.  Everyday when I would get to class he would say hi to me with so much excitment, for no reason at all.  One day I decided to give a little more than usual, so I said “Hi!” before he even had the chance to greet me first, and I sat down next to him and asked him how his day was going.  Weeks past and he became my buddy in that class.  Each day when I walked in the door I saw his eyes locked on the entrance anticipating my arrival with excitment to see his friend.  Typically, I would walk over to my seat, he would generously pull it out for me, pat me on the back as I sat down, and then we would begin our conversation and giggles.  One day though, at the end of class as he was packing up his stuff to leave, he thanked me and said: “You know, everyday I go out of my way to be extremely nice to people, and you would be surprised how rarely their kindness is returned to me.”

Wow.  I felt conflicted.  Should I feel happy that he appreciates me, or sad that he seldom feels appreciated?  It could not take LESS effort for me to be nice to him, and show a little interest in who he is as a person.  Yet the impact it makes on his day seems to be profound.  I think we all have situations like this in our lives.  Someone we wish would give a little more; someone we know deep down deserves a little more from us.  I’m so grateful that I met him, because now I have this mission to put a little extra sweetness into EVERY person I meet.

What if we all did this?  Why don’t we?  It’s sooo easy!  For the rest of the day, I invite every person who actually took the time to read this to live consciously, and as you dance through your day, notice people you wouldn’t normally notice… And then take it one step further and actually acknowledge them.  SHOW them that you see them, and that you are happy that it is so!

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu!

Cheyenne

One thought on “Kindness

  1. Your kindness is so inspiring! Loved catching up on all your thoughts today, they came to me at the perfect time 🙂 I am so proud to be your friend!

Leave a Reply

